CVP Analysis Problems and Solutions
Previous Lesson: Process Costing Problems and Solutions
Next Lesson: Functional Budgets Problems and Solutions
Problem # 1:
Assume that as an investor, you are planning to enter the construction industry as a panel formwork supplier. The potential number of forthcoming projects, you forecasted that within two years, your fixed cost for producing formworks is Rs. 300,000. The variable unit cost for making one panel is Rs. 15. The sale price for each panel will be Rs. 25. If you charge Rs. 25 for each panel, how many panels you need to sell in total, in order to start making money?
Answer: Break-Even in Units = 30,000 panels
>> Practice Cost Volume Profit Analysis MCQs.
Problem # 2:
Suppose you intend to open a franchise business to supply a nationally-known line of women’s shoes. You’ve found a good location in Abbottabad to open your shop, and have determined that the average prices and costs of operating the store are:
Price = Rs. 50 per pair Cost = Rs. 30 per pair Rent = Rs. 2,500 per month Insurance = Rs. 500 per month Utilities & Telephone = Rs. 300 per month
In addition, you plan to hire two sales ladies on a commission basis of 10% in order to provide them with incentive to sell shoes. You are required determine the breakeven point in Rupees?
Answer: Break-Even in Rupees = Rs. 11,000
>> Readings Cost Volume Profit Analysis.
Problem # 3:
A manufacturing company supplies its products to construction job sites. The average monthly fixed cost per site is Rs. 4,500, while each unit cost Rs. 35 to produce and selling price is Rs. 50 per unit. Determine the monthly breakeven volume.
Answer: Break-Even in Volume = 300
>> Further Readings Process Costing.
Problem # 4:
A store sells t-shirts. The average selling price is Rs. 15 and the average variable cost (cost price) is Rs. 9. Thus, every time the store sells a shirt it has Rs. 6 remaining after it pays the manufacturer. This Rs. 6 is referred to as the unit contribution.
(a) Suppose the fixed costs of operating the store (its operating expenses) are Rs. 100,000 per year. Find Break-even in units?
Answer: Break-Even in Units = 16,667 T-shirts
(b) If the owner desired a profit of Rs. 25,000, what will be break-even point in Rupees?
Answer: Break-Even in Rupees = 16,667
(c) If fixed costs rose to Rs. 110,000, break-even in units volume would be? Solution:
Answer: Break-Even in Units = 18,333 T-shirts
(d) If the average selling price rose to Rs.16, break even volume would fall? Solution:
Answer: Break-Even in Volume = 14,286 T-shirts
>> Further Readings Job Order Costing.
This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project
in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!
This website help me in my cost accounting paper. I like this and thank you admin.
Great work! Keep it up!
i would to ask that how do we calculate the sales revenue at which profits would be the same
Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?
Thanks for writing this. I enjoyed reading this. You are a very persuasive writer. This blog creates high quality blog posts.
I really like it when individuals get together and share thoughts. Great blog, keep it up!
I enjoyed reading what you had to say. This information is magnificent. This is an excellent, an eye-opener for sure! Nice write up.
Great read. I enjoyed reading what you had to say. Well I will never be the same after reading your work! I guess I really got sucked into your article because when I saw the time I was surprise to see that I’ve spent the last 2 or more hours on your article.
Thanks for writing this. I enjoyed your post. Thank you. I enjoyed your post. Thank you. You appear to know a lot about this.
I enjoyed reading what you had to say. It’s like you wrote the book on it or something. Great post! You are a very persuasive writer.
You can not even imagine the amount of time I wasted trying to find this infomation! This article is so awesome that it feels like my eyes exploded while seeing it. Thanks for writing this. It’s like you wrote the book on it or something.
This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!
It’s hard to come by experienced people about this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks
Nice post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the remaining phase 🙂 I deal with such info much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and good luck.
Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is very helpful. Thanks for sharing!
you are really a excellent webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a excellent task in this topic!|
Excellent student class plc reported the following for 2018 and 2019 respectively
2019: profit #31000,sales #270000
In each of the years, variable cost p3r unit and fixed cost were the same
1 Calculate fixed cost in each year
2 c/s ratio
3. Calculate the sales of #48000 in 2020 assuming price and cost remain the same
Break Even Analysis in economics, financial modeling, and cost accounting refers to the point in which total cost and total revenue are equal. It is used to determine the number of units or revenue needed to cover total costs (fixed
Gray ltd wish to sell 10,000 units of its product which has a variable cost of $20. Fixed cost is $46,000$ and required profit is 24,000$ . Calculate selling price per unit
Fixed Cost (46,000) + Net Operating Income (24,000)= Contribution Margin (70,000)
Variable Cost per unit (20) * Sale Units (10,000) = Variable cost (200,000)
Contribution Margin (70,000) + Variable Cost (200,000) = Selling Price (270,000)
Contribution Margin(70,000) / Unit of Sales (10,000)= CM units = 7
THUS Variable Cost per unit (20) + CM units (7) = Selling price per unit (27)
Thanks you for your’s help!!
Thanks you very much